“儿童是有能力又有竞争力的学习者”,菲奥娜如是说

 

1、你能描述一下你作为一名早期教育专家的成长经历吗?

我的职业生涯始于英国的小学低年段,我在市区的贫民学校工作了很多年,其中很多学校都有以英语为第二语言的孩子。在移居德国之后,我开始从事幼儿教育工作。深入这一行业以后,我发现了幼儿的发展以及早期学习信心的建立对他们进入学校的影响是非常深远的,这一发现让我执著于早期教育的研究。此外,我也非常喜欢与家长们进行沟通,并为儿童额外的学习需求提供早期识别。之后我成为了英国政府机构的教育顾问,并有幸加入英国标准与测试机构, 当时在英国《早期奠基阶段法定框架》已成为评估5岁儿童身心发展水平的法定评估框架。

在此期间,我的工作内容涉及从高效项目的团队领导到贫困儿童助学工作。之后我被邀请与英国当地教育机构以及教育工作者分享工作经验与心得,也非常享受与各个学校进行工作交流,学习和了解其他学校的教学模式。这使我非常荣幸地成为了Early Excellence的国际业务发展经理, 期间我了解到了如何规划学习环境以及运用探究式学习, 激发学生学习以过渡到高年级学习中。

在此期间,我的工作内容涉及从高效项目的团队领导到贫困儿童助学工作。之后我被邀请与英国当地教育机构以及教育工作者分享工作经验与心得,也非常享受与各个学校进行工作交流,学习和了解其他学校的教学模式。这使我非常荣幸地成为了Early Excellence的国际业务发展经理, 期间我了解到了如何规划学习环境以及运用探究式学习, 激发学生学习以过渡到高年级学习中。

在加入惠灵顿(中国)之前, 我工作重点主要在中东地区,这些地区的教师以及学校领导团队对于教育工作的热情和专业精神,对于教育咨询服务方面不同的需求以及不同的儿童群体都激励着我。期间恰逢为惠灵顿公学曼谷分校的开校工作提供咨询与顾问服务,并收到邀请加入惠灵顿(中国)国际教育集团,并担任早期教育教学总监一职,驻扎在上海。 能够再次有机会与知名教育集团进行合作, 与如此具有独特教育理念以及发展历史的学校合作,这让我无法拒绝。作为惠立教育研究院的成员,除了参与早期教育阶段的双语教学研究外,能够为中国的教育事业尽绵薄之力,并仍有机会与中东的教育机构展开合作与交流,这是我职业盛宴目前为止最激动人心同时也是最具挑战的工作内容。

2、你领导过哪些具有高影响力的项目?它们如何为早期教育的新课程和评估发展铺平了道路?

这些项目旨在推进英国早期教育体系在英格兰东南部的落实,并在幼儿年满五岁的最后一个学期对其发展水平所进行综合评估。通过这些项目我们发现,教师对于幼儿发展水平判断的精准性以及对于新课程标准的理解参差不齐。因此我所领导的这些跨界项目旨在帮助所有教育相关从业人员了解如何利用教学评估结果提升自己的后续教学,他们也将清楚地了解需要进一步学习的新知识和新领域。

我还深入参与到了一个旨在帮助缩短来自贫困家庭儿童与中产阶级家庭儿童之间学习成就的差距的项目(生命之语项目)中。 真正关注并且确保所有教育从业人员都理解早期语言发展的重要性, 这是生命之语项目的重点,该项目使我们所在地区在早期教育教学成果排名中上升了一百个名次。这是一个非常瞩目的成就, 同时也非常享受该项目的领导过程。

3、我们怎样能够了解到中国的早期教育阶段教育方案, 反之亦然?

在中国,人们普遍认为在早期教育阶段,对实现卓越教学实践的关键元素进行大规模教学培训是保证教学质量的可持续化模式。这也将帮助在中国的学校和领导者真正具备为今后学生的学习提供深远影响力的能力,这样他们就能够不用经常依赖西方的教育培训专家以及相关培训项目。我认为在阿拉伯联合酋长国的教育工作者们也同样认可这一说法,同样的,那些匆忙启动的教育改革项目或者一次性的教改行动并不能产生深远持久的影响,但这些项目却耗资昂贵,有些项目耗时过长。中国教育部非常迫切想要听取一些教育专家们—类似于像我们这样,有实证为本教学实践的经验, 同时具备教师职业发展理念的教育专家—的建议。这些建议将被转化成课程开发与评估以及培训项目的改革方案——当然这些需求需要进一步明确,并且密切监督其对于早期教育阶段儿童学习进步的影响,之后再进一步纳入学校具体改革方案中。

中国提出的一带一路的发展愿景,包括打造中西融合的最佳教学实践——即广泛提高知识水平, 并提高批判性思维和创造性思维。随着这一愿景的提出,如何在早期教育阶段实施这一最佳教学实践的话题逐渐受到人们的高度重视。阿联酋目前处于教育发展的有利地位,不仅通过其强劲的教学监管策略保证国际学校的教学质量,而且能够确保阿联酋国内的儿童和家长也能享受同样高水准的教育。这里的学校无论是从建筑设计还是教育资源供给都已经达到了很高的标准,我在过去三年接触到很多优秀的阿联酋国家的校长们, 他们都致力于积极培养教职员工,从而提供世界一流的教育水平与服务。我衷心地希望我们惠立教育研究院也能够担此重任。

4、早期教育对儿童有多重要, 特别是考虑到其替代方案如家庭教育?

早期教育工作者们积极地帮助儿童收集相关学习经验,以帮助他们在大脑高速发育过程中建立学习联系。研究表明这些在学校所获得的早期教育经验能够帮助儿童抵御贫困对其的影响并为今后的学习打好基础。我认为儿童是有能力而又竞争力的学习者,当他们能够与尊重他们想法的成人一起学习, 并在与学习相关的环境中拓展思维时,他们的学习效果最佳。

因此,我为惠灵顿(中国)以及惠灵顿(中国)以外的教育机构所提供的早期教育咨询与建议能够通过教学实践、学习环境以及在家长与儿童主导的学习中保持正确的平衡的宏伟目标中反映这些价值观。作为早期教育教学总监,我由衷地希望能够将这一影响传递给任何新成立的早期教育服务提供商,并确保所打造的学习空间能够最大程度地为该年龄段儿童提供有利学习环境,并为在早期教育中承担关键教学实践工作的从业人员提供相关培训。

最后一点,目前全世界对于早期教育评估仍存在很多误区,因此目前我的首要任务将是改进教学评估体系,并使其尽可能做到有意义又有效率,进一步体现我们希望学生所具备的特质即积极、独立、个性、包容、慎思。

5、作为2018国际和私立学校教育论坛的演讲嘉宾,在你的演讲中最关键想要传达的信息是什么?

在教学实践中力求一致性以及高质量教学,帮助国际学校制定学校教改的策略重点。定义卓越的早期教育并赋予实质性的内涵。参与者们将有机会在专题讨论会仲提问,并具体探讨英国早期教育体系的课程内容、最有效的教学设计以帮助进一步促进儿童学习参与度以及如何汇报以及使用早期教育阶段的教学数据来推动进步。

参考资料:

https://www.edarabia.com/children-powerful-competent-learners/

Fiona Carter简介


Fiona Carter时任惠灵顿(中国)早期教育教学总监。Fiona拥有三十多年教育教学经验,并专注于早期教育。在被任命为英国当地教育机构的早期教育部门总监后,Fiona领导了许多具备深远影响力的项目,并且在成功落实与推进早期教育阶段新课程与评估体系中发挥重要作用。

Fiona的价值观是为早期教育年龄段的人群的学习提供学习条件,并为将其培养成独立,善于交际和充满创意的思考者打下坚实基础。Fiona毕业于谢菲尔德大学,并获得教育学学士学位。

 

其他关注

 

教育咨询

 

常见问题

 

QTS

Children are powerful and competent learners, says Fiona Carter

 

Fiona Carter, Director of Academics (Early Years), Wellington College China talks about the new curriculum and assessment development in Early Years Education and her thoughts on the importance of key strategies for school improvement.

1. Can you describe your journey to being an Early Years educator?

I started my career in Key Stage 1 and worked for many years in inner city schools in the UK, many of which, had children with English as their second language. Whilst then moving to Germany to teach, I was given the opportunity to work in Reception and Nursery and became fascinated with early childhood development and the impact further into school when the confidence for learning is established early. I also enjoyed the connections with families and early identification of extra learning needs. I then became a local government advisor and had the opportunity to work with the Standards and Testing Agency as the EYFS Profile was developed as the first statutory assessment for 5-year-olds in the UK.

From leading teams on highly effective projects on ways to support children from backgrounds of poverty, I was then asked to share knowledge with others across the UK and loved the travel and learning about other schools, teaching and learning models. This took me to work as the International Development Manager for Early Excellence and I learned so much about planning environments and taking an enquiry approach into older age groups.

The Middle East was my main focus of work and the enthusiasm and professionalism of the teachers and school leads, the different needs in terms of advice and the varied cohort of children inspired me to consider eventually living overseas. As I was about to advise Wellington Colleges on their new school in Bangkok, I was asked to join them as Director of Academics for their group of schools in China and to be based in Shanghai. The opportunity to work with a family of schools again and one which has such distinct educational values and history was too good to refuse. Moreover, the chance to shape education in China and still be able to work with schools in the Middle East as part of the Institute of Learning alongside action research into bilingualism has made my current role the most exciting and challenging of my career to date.

2. Which high impact projects paved the way for new curriculum and assessment development in Early Years Education?

The projects broadly addressed the implementation of the new EYFS curriculum in the SE of England as well as reviewing the reporting of attainment at the end of the Reception year in schools, when children were 5 years old. It was realised that accuracy of teacher judgement and the understanding of the new standards was very varied and so I led on cross-border projects for moderation and explaining the new areas of learning to all the relevant stakeholders.
I was also heavily involved in narrowing the gap in attainment between children from underprivileged backgrounds and their middle-class peers. A real focus on attachment and ensuring that all practitioners understood early language development were key in a Language for Life project which saw our region move just over a hundred places in the rankings of early years outcomes. A great result and so interesting to lead.

3. How can we learn from China’s early years’ education program and vice versa?

In China, there is a recognition that large scale training into the essential elements of outstanding early years practice is key to a sustainable model of quality and, in turn, will equip Chinese schools and their leaders sufficiently to have a real impact on learning for future generations so that they are not always relying on trainers and programmes from the West. I believe that this has also been recognised by the UAE and that rushing into projects and one-off initiatives do not have long lasting effects and are expensive and sometimes time-consuming. In China, the Ministry of Education are keen to take advice from specialists such as ourselves who have a history of evidence based practice and a philosophy of teachers continually learning from each other. This then will be translated into curriculum development and assessment as well as training – all of which need to align with one another and then be monitored closely in terms of impact on progress in the Early Years and further into school.

Early Years education is now being given a very high priority in China as the foundation for the country`s vision for a fusion of the best practice of the East and the West – broad levels of knowledge as well as the promotion of critical and creative thinking. The UAE is in a great position now to not only continually improve the quality of international schools from its strong inspection programmes but also to ensure that Emirati children and parents can expect to receive the same levels of excellent education. Buildings and resourcing are already of a very high standard here and the Emirati School Principals I have met over the last 3 years all share a passion for offering a world class education with a workforce who are equipped to deliver it with confidence. I hope the Institute of Learning can be part of this work.

4. How essential is early years education for children, especially when considering alternatives like homeschooling?

Early Years educators actively support children to collect the experiences they need to build and hard wire the learning links in their developing brains. Research has proved that these early experiences in school can act as a defence against the effects of poverty and lay the foundations for future dispositions to learning. I believe that children are powerful and competent learners who learn best when they work with adults who value their ideas and engage in interactions to extend their thinking in environments which connect with their learning.

Hence, my work in my own schools and those who I advise outside of the Wellington group will reflect these values in their practice, learning environments and an ambition to achieve the right balance between adult and child led learning. As Director of Academics, I hope to influence any new building of Early Years provision and ensure that spaces allow for the maximum conditions for learning with this new age group as well as train existing practitioners in the crucial role that adults play.

Finally, there is still a lot of misunderstanding globally about early years assessment and my first task will be to make our progress monitoring systems as meaningful and efficient as possible, reflecting what we want our pupils to become… Inspired, Intellectual, Independent, Individual, Inclusive and International.

5. As a speaker at IPSEF 2018, what are the main takeaways from your session?

The key strategies which support school improvement in International schools when striving for consistency in practice and high-quality teaching. A definition of excellence in Early Years and what it looks like. A chance to ask questions later in the panel about specific aspects of the EYFS curriculum, the most effective designs for provision to promote deep levels of involvement and how to report on and use Early Years data to drive progress.

Reference:

https://www.edarabia.com/children-powerful-competent-learners/

About Fiona Carter

Fiona Carter is the Director of Academics (Early Years), Wellington College China. Fiona has thirty years of experience in education and specialises in Early Years. After rising to the position as Head of Early Years in local government in the UK, Fiona led many of the high impact improvement projects and was instrumental in the successful implementation of the new curriculum and assessment developments in Early Years.
Fiona’s values and vision are to support the creation of conditions which maximise learning in this unique age group whilst ensuring that solid foundations are in place to develop independent, communicative and creative thinkers. Fiona graduated from The University of Sheffield with a bachelor’s degree in education.

Where Next

 

PGCE

 

FAQ

 

Education Consultancy