未来,信息技术以及学习环境将如何最大程度促进学习?

当今社会正在以前所未有的速度大力发展生产力(McKinsey & Co, 2019)。科学技术以及周围的环境正以前所未有的态势影响着社会以及专业化交流的方式。基于此,人文社会的这两大方面将对促进学习与教育发展起到越来越积极的作用。

这对于学习、学校以及教育又意味着什么?本文将着重阐述信息技术以及学习环境在未来将如何最大程度地提高教育影响力。

1
信息技术与学习

人工智能的黎明已至,但人们仍应对人工智能的潜力持以客观的态度。当然,信息技术以及人工智能的优势密不可分,对整个社会也将产生不可预估的影响。

举个例子,据报道,通过构建人工智能的潜力,社会生产力将提高百分之八 (McKinsey & Co, 2019),社会分工也将产生变化,随着人工智能将更快更可靠地替代中产阶级的某些职业,这些职业的就业前景将受到大幅度影响。该影响将进一步延伸至关怀经济以及教育行业。

同时,学习受两大主要因素影响,即由教师以及学校共同创造的模块化学习经历,以及学生所接触的社会环境以及情感体验。当学习条件能够更好地为思维模式的构建提供条件时,学习效果才能达到最大化。学习条件包括学习环境的各个方面、课程或学习结构,为学生提供清晰的标准来衡量学习成就,以及最好是在社会化的环境中,为学生提供机会,让学生有机会在某一时间或一段时间内来运用所学知识。其次,当学生得到充分的激励,喜欢学习并且感到归属感时,学习会更加有效。

2
未来信息技术如何促进学习

未来,信息技术将处于学习的中心。目前在教育行业中所用到的信息技术仍然处于学习的表面,未来它将处于学习的中心。因为人工智能将提供这样的机会,例如,人工智能将用来衡量如下几大因素:

  • 学生投入
  • 幸福感与参与度
  • 独立性
  • 认知挑战

如上所提供的信息,为参与实际课堂教学的老师们阐述了这样一个道理:如果操作得当,教学实证是可以用来为学习成果的最大化提供较大程度的干预的。的确如此,教学实证甚至能够为学生提供具体教学干预的学习,产生相关以及可预期的影响。这就将信息技术置于学习的中心,这不是一种无端的揣测,目前的确有相关的系统研究来评估上述内容。随着系统的越来越稳固,信息技术的随手可得,人工智能技术将对教学质量产生显著影响力。惠立教育研究院目前正在进行的研究主要包括如下几点:

  • 教学方法与学生投入程度之间的关系
  • 观察学生幸福感/参与度与教学质量、学校标准之间的关系

3
未来学习环境将如何促进学习

学习环境对于学习有着非常重要的作用(Barrett et al., 2016)。Peter Barrett与其他教育专家所进行的一项研究清楚地表明环境的重要性,例如,设计合理的教学环境与普通的教育环境之间在学习上将产生16%的差异。因此,精心规划的照明设施、空气质量、温度、音响效果、与户外活动的连接、灵活性、使用权限、颜色以及设施的复杂程度都将影响学习。学习环境的设计因而将对促进学习效果的最大化产生非常重要的作用。

现以当下热门的教育话题:独立性来探讨环境的重要性。培养学生的独立性被认为是当代教育的重要成果之一。但就具体落实方式,这一点尚未明确。学习的独立性被定义为:将独立学习作为一种教育过程、教育方法以及教育理念,在此期间,学生通过自己的努力来掌握知识和技能,培养探索以及思辨能力。

因此,培养学生的独立性对于学习内容以及学习方式都有着重要的启示。毫无疑问,学习的过程需要一个可以衡量的方法来确定何时收回教学辅导,那就是当发现学生已经掌握了重要的知识,并在社会环境中,让学生来决定他们将如何来使用这些知识。为了促进独立思维以及学习能力,学习环境将如何来最大程度促进学习呢?

SpaceZero是一家致力于为学习环境提供室内设计的专业公司,在与该司合作共同打造学习环境的过程中,我们试着回答如上所提出的问题。答案首先从解读独立性的定义出发,以及探索所需的认知过程。答案显示,通过为学生提供学习帮助,以促进他们学习的过程中,教师处于教室环境的中心。

围绕这一答案,便有了如下最初按照功能区域来划分的教室设计图,而这些区域都与独立学习的各个内容有关。

  • 独处区域:这里为学生提供了反思以及独立思考的能力,并仍然保留教室环境的多样性元素
  • 除老师介绍的核心知识以外,为学生提供获得额外知识的区域
  • 为学生提供以小组为单位进行合作学习的区域
  • 考虑到音响效果的原因,为学生提供进行开放性讨论的区域,并同时提供自我反思以及独立学习的空间

这又带出了如下教室设计草图,学生以教师为中心安排座位,同时提供大量灵活的区域,为学生提供可以自主选择、并进行独立思考与学习的区域。这就需要教学的重点是将主要知识非常有效地进行面对面教学,并且为学生掌握知识提供尽可能多的独立学习的机会。作为始终处于为学生提供独立学习以及教学辅导的核心人物,教师始终激励学生进行深层次的独立思考与学习,并将这些思考和学习与其兴趣爱好和能力结合在一起。作为为学生提供有意义教学的场所,教室应始终保持多样化、尊重对话,并且学生可以有能力来选择他们该如何以及在何地运用所学知识内容。

这一设计方案随后与其他的设计原则进行整合,并结合独立学习的理念,最后采用了这样一个教室结构:充分利用自然光线,声音效果以及与室外活动空间相结合等。促进独立学习的理念确定了室内的学习功能区域,即保证学生有充分的反思空间、开展自我决定的学习活动,同时功能区域与环境相结合,具备温度适宜、空气质量、色彩以及灵活地促进学习等特点。这样合理的学习环境,也许每年会在学习效果上体现出额外的百分之十六的差异!

来自惠立教育研究院的何迈德博士在五月召开的2019中国智慧校园创新发展论坛上发表了上述内容的演讲。具体内容以及围绕此展开的专业化学习机会,将在十月举办的教育峰会上揭晓,欢迎点击如下二维码报名参与。

其他关注

 

常见问题

 

PGCE

 

QTS

How will technology and learning environment maximise learning?

Society has never been more productive (McKinsey & Co, 2019). Together, technology and the spaces in which we exist are influencing the nature of social and professional interaction like never before. As such, these two aspects of humanity will also play an increasing role in facilitating learning and education.

What are the implications for learning, schools and education? This article explores the future possibilities for technology and the learning environment in maximising the impact of education.

1
Technology and learning

The dawn of artificial intelligence (AI) is upon us, but one should perhaps remain critical of the potential of AI. Regardless, the advancements of technology and AI are relentless and will influence society irrevocably.

For instance, it is reported that productivity will increase by 8% (McKinsey & Co, 2019), framing the potential for AI; the world of work will change and occupations of the middle classes may be dramatically impacted as AI undertakes these roles quicker and more reliably; for example, the medical, law or media industries. Perhaps there will be greater longevity in the caring economy or indeed education.

Meanwhile, learning is influenced by two parameters the structured learning experience created by the teacher and the school, along with the social and emotional context of the learner. Learning is maximised when the conditions are ideal for creating mental constructs. Conditions comprise all aspects of the environment in which learning takes place, the way lessons or learning are structured, providing learners explicit criteria for successful learning, and opportunities for pupils to apply learning to a given problem over a period of time, ideally in a social context. Secondly, when pupils are highly motivated, enjoy learning and feel like they belong, leaning happens much more effectively.

2
Learning: The future possibilities for technology

The future of technology will be at the heart of learning. Current applications of technology in education operate at the periphery of learning. The future of technology is to begin to position it at the centre of learning. AI offers this opportunity; for example, AI could be used to assess the following factors:

  • Pupil engagement
  • Wellbeing and involvement
  • Independence
  • Cognitive challenge

This information provided to a teacher in real time for each pupil in a class offers profound evidence that if manipulated can truly offer most likely interventions to maximise learning. Indeed, perhaps it can even offer the relative expected impact on learning of specific interventions for each child. This begins to place technology closer to the heart of learning. This is not conjecture; there are systems that are currently used at a research level to assess the list above. As these systems become increasingly robust and such technology more accessible, the potential for AI to have a significant impact on the quality of teaching is truly profound. Indeed, the Wellington College China Institute of Learning is currently undertaking research into:

  • The relationship between pedagogical approach and levels of pupil engagement
  • The link between scanning for wellbeing and involvement with the quality of teaching and standards of learning

3
Learning: The future role of the learning environment

The environment in which learning takes place has been demonstrated to have a profound impact on learning (Barrett et al., 2016). Work by Peter Barrett, among others, is offering clear evidence of the importance of the environment; e.g. 16% variation in learning between a well-designed and traditional learning environment. Thus, careful consideration of lighting, air quality, temperature, acoustics, access to nature, flexibility, ownership, colour and complexity can influence learning. The design of the learning environment is thus fundamental in order to maximise learning.

Let’s explore the role of the environment through a current educational hot topic, independence. Promoting independence in learners is recognised as a fundamental outcome of a contemporary education, but how to do so is less certain. Independence in learning may be defined as: Independent learning is a process, a method and a philosophy of education, in which a pupil acquires knowledge, skills and understanding by his or her own efforts and develops the ability for inquiry and critical evaluation.

Therefore, promoting independence in our learners has implications for what is learned and how it is used. It is clear that the process of learning requires a measured approach to withdrawing support once there is evidence of the required underpinning knowledge has been acquired and then empowering learners to make scaffolded decisions about how they will utilise learning, often in a social context. In order to promote independent thinking and learning, how can the learning environment best maximise chances?

In partnership with SpaceZero, an interior design entity specialising in learning environments, we attempted to answer the question above. The solution started with the definition and concept of independence and then an exploration for cognitive operations required. The exercise identified that the role of the teacher is at the heart of the classroom offering access to scaffolded support to learners in order for them to move forward with learning.

This informed a series of initial basic designs that viewed the classroom organised into zones that supported various components of independent learning:

  • Social seclusion: areas for pupils to reflect and think independently whilst remaining part of the classroom dynamic
  • Areas for pupils to access information beyond the core knowledge introduced by the teacher
  • Spaces for collaborative learning by groups of pupils
  • A consideration for acoustics to allow for creative discussion whilst also the quite needed for reflection and independent study

This, in turn, led to an initial plan for a design of a classroom that had the teacher positioned centrally with a range of flexible spaces required for independent thinking and learning that can be owned and utilised by learners. This requires a more of teaching that emphasises efficiency in introducing knowledge directly coupled with maximising opportunities for pupils to utilise knowledge in an independent approach. The teacher at the hub of ongoing independent endeavours designed drive learners to deeper levels of independence in thinking and learning at a level that reflects interest and ability. The classroom would be a dynamic hive of purposeful activity that would be varied, dialogue valued, and pupils empowered to make choices about how and where they applied learning.

The plan was then utilised to generate rendering that incorporated design principles along with the independent learning philosophy resulting in a classroom that crafted to harness natural light, careful acoustics and links to nature. Learning informed zones within classrooms that harness the opportunity for reflection, self-determined learning activity and collaboration within an environment that has temperature, air quality, colour and flexibility to support the acquisition of learning. Perhaps an additional 16% each and every year!

Dr. Ahmed Hussain from the Institute of Learning presented a summary of this work at the School Campus Summit in Shanghai May 2019. The concepts and philosophy will also be shared through the professional learning opportunities offered by the Institute of Learning throughout the 2019-20 academic year. To register for an event or to find further information please scan the QR code below.

References:
Barrett, Peter (2016) Clever classrooms. www.cleverclassroomsdesign.co.uk
Judge, David (2018) SpaceZero.

Where Next

 

QTS

 

PGCE

 

Leadership Programmes