最新教研进展!双语幼儿园与公办校的语言习得、形成性教学评估

在往期文章中,对于因地制宜进行教学研究的重要性,我们已经作了详细的阐述。国内针对国际教育以及双语教育相对匮乏的研究现状,像迷雾一样阻碍了教学、课程以及教学评估的发展以及实现卓越。国际学校以及双语学校的领导们、教师们以及家长们应该勇于披荆斩棘、勇于尝试,而不是仅仅根据一条既定路线,循规蹈矩地提高学生们的知识水平和能力。

为了克服这些挑战,惠立教育研究院承担并且立项了诸多具备战略发展高度相关性的教学研究项目。这些教学研究项目主要在惠灵顿(中国)下属学校内展开,以加强学校的政策制定和教学实践。除此之外,惠立教育研究院成立的另一宗旨是积极融入国内教育体系。因此,本文将针对目前开展的两个重要的教学研究项目作简要介绍。

1. 在惠立幼儿园开展的英语作为附加语言的习得
2. 在浦东新区的公办小学内探索形成性教学评估方法的运用


惠立幼儿园项目:
英语作为附加语言的习得

众所周知,良好的听说能力是优秀的读写成绩的重要先决条件,这在学习与掌握外语中体现得尤为重要。在惠立幼儿园,老师们发现小朋友们往往先从机械性地阅读或用简单标记开始学习英语,但表达能力却落后很多。在惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校中,类似的情况也发生在英语为附加语言的学生中。

在杜伦大学研究人员的帮助下,老师们特别为幼儿园的小朋友们研发了一套讲故事的教学方式。该教学方法以儿童故事绘本为载体,通过具体的教学与游戏活动来针对性地培养小朋友们的听说能力。该套教学方法在2018-2019学年试行,并通过与之前学年的比较型分析来评估其影响力。

分析结果显示,在运用该套教学方法进行教学的小班以及大班中,小朋友们显著提高了其交流与语言表达能力。的确,统计数据分析结果结合教学实证综合得出的效应值为0.8,这进一步说明了小朋友们交流与语言表达能力通过讲故事的教学方法得到了显著提高。下一步的研究将是在比较型分析中,进一步扩大研究范围,同时也希望该研究成果能够在国际性期刊中得到发表。

通过提高老师们在校本研究中所需要的学术知识与教学研究能力,惠立幼儿园的老师们所从事的教学研究对于教学方法与教学实践具备战略发展意义,也为惠灵顿(中国)在教学发展方面带来深远的启示。上述校本研究,得到了惠立教育研究院的大力支持。


浦东新区公办小学项目:
探索形成性教学评估方法的运用

教学评估是国内教育体系中尤为重要的一环。然而,其中绝大多数以总结性教育评估为主。惠灵顿-浦东国际教育课程战略联盟的成立旨在就中西两国的教育理念作深入的探讨与交流,其中一项重要的交流项目就是在浦东新区各公办小学内就小学四年级的数学教学引入形成性教学评估。该项教学研究项目由浦东新区教育发展研究院的赵士果博士领衔,并获得惠立教育研究院的大力支持,旨在探索引入在国际学校内获得成功的教学评估方法是否能够对浦东新区公办学校的教学取得一定影响力。

意想不到的是,为小学数学教师们提供培训,帮助其在短短一个学期的时间内掌握一小部分有关形成性评价的知识内容已经对学生们在浦东新区统考中获得不俗的成绩(效应值<0.05)。值得注意的是,在学生问卷调查以及结构性访谈中发现使用明确的教学目标以及学习成功标准与以下内容高度相关(效应值<0.01):

  • 积极的学习动机
  • 自我效能增加
  • 更高水平的自我调节或自我管理

这些研究成果令人鼓舞,都充分反映了教学评估若结合中西教育方法之所长,不仅可以提高学生的学习成绩,还可以进一步促进更为有效的教学方法,培养学生为未来成功人生奠基。赵博士与惠立教育研究院正着手准备将该研究成果发表在国际期刊上。

由于该项教学研究是在惠灵顿(中国)以外的学校内得到落实,这也进一步验证了惠立教学评估模式的重要性以及其在促进学生学习的重要意义。

近期文章还会介绍更多研究项目,例如由我院余岁穗总监与上海市教科院合作进行的有关国内公办、双语以及国际学校领导力比较性研究的论文成果。

您可通过惠立教育研究院所提供的以下途径获取上述有关教学研究方法的最新成果以及进行校本研究的机会:

1. Inspiring Learning论坛
2. 系列工作坊

更多信息,请扫描如下二维码:

*效应量是教育研究中经常使用的一种统计方法,它使用包括以下内容的连续体来衡量一项计划的相对影响:

•负值;即该计划实际上产生了负面影响,例如导致考试成绩下降
•非常小的效应量,从0到大约0.2
•较大效应量为0.4及以上
•效应量>0.7被认为具有非常高的影响

Coe R.和Kime S.(2013)DIY评估指南
教育捐赠基金

其他关注

 

研讨会

 

QTS

 

PGCE

Research Update on Language Acquisition and Formative Assessment

In previous communications from the Huili Institute of Learning (IoL), the importance of contextually relevant research was raised. It was argued that the relatively impoverished level of research in the bilingual and international education sector in China; and beyond, renders the journey to excellence in learning, teaching, curriculum and assessment enigmatic. Instead of following a well laid out path towards improving what pupils know and can do, schools, their leaders, teachers and parents must risk forging ahead on a road with insecure foundations.

To overcome these challenges, the IoL has established a range of strategically relevant research projects. These are primarily undertaken across the schools in the Wellington College China group in order to strengthen policy and practice. However, the IoL is committed to engaging with local education systems in China. This article provides a brief update on two critical projects:

1. Language Acquisition in a Huili nursery
2. Application of formative assessment practices in primary schools in Pudong


Language Acquisition in a Huili nursery

It is widely established that effective listening and speaking is an essential precursor, and indeed foundations of, successful reading and writing. This is especially important in acquiring an additional language. A Huili nursery identified that their pupils often began to read and mark-make in English in a mechanical way, but that speaking often lagged behind these skills. A similar observation has been made in a Wellington College China international school for pupils with English as an additional language.

A team of teachers, with input from a researcher at Durham University, developed a story talk programme specifically designed for pupils in the nursery. The programme uses a book-based approach to directly promote listening and speaking by linking it to concrete activities. The story talk programme was initiated in the 2018-19 academic year and impact evaluated using a comparative analysis to the preceding academic year.

Findings indicate that pupils experiencing story-talk in EY2 and 4 displayed significantly higher levels of communication and language. Indeed, statistical analysis with initial evidence revealed an effect size of 0.8*, which indicates that the improvements in communication and language were influenced by story-talk in a profound manner. Next steps include broadening the analysis within the comparative analysis. It is hopeful that these finding will be published in an international journal.

By upskilling teachers with the basics knowledge and skills required to lead research in a school context, a Huili nursery team of teachers are leading the strategic development of pedagogy and practice that has deep implications for learning across the Wellington College China group. This has been supported by the IoL.


Application of formative assessment practices in primary schools in Pudong

Assessment strongly underpins education in China. However, it is recognised that practices are predominantly summative in nature. The Wellington-Pudong Alliance for International Curriculum Alliance has been established to exchange ideas and practices between Chinese and international education systems. One project comprised introducing formative assessment practices to grade 4 mathematics classes across a wide range of primary schools in Pudong. The research was led by Dr Zhao from the Pudong institute of international curriculum exchange and research and supported by the IoL. The study intended to explore whether incorporating assessment practices typical in a successful international school have an impact on pupil learning in Pudong.

Interestingly, by training primary school mathematics teachers to employ a relatively narrow range of formative assessment practices for little over a semester is linked to significantly improved outcomes (<0.05 or less than 5% chance of the difference being accountable to something other than formative assessment) in district level tests. Importantly, however, a pupil questionnaire and structured interviews identified that the use of learning specific objectives and success criteria was very strongly associated (<0.01 or less than 1% chance of the difference being accountable to something other than formative assessment) with:

  • Elevated levels of motivation
  • Increased self-efficacy
  • Higher levels of self-adjustment or self-regulation

These reflect inspiring findings of how bringing together strong practices from the Chinese and international approaches to assessment not only improves pupil outcomes but also promotes learning approaches that are widely viewed as underpinning current and future success for learners. Dr Zhao and the IoL are currently working on publishing this work in an international journal.

Whilst this work is undertaken in schools beyond the Wellington College China family of schools, it reinforces the importance of the Huili approach to assessment and how it can improve learning.

A further update includes the publication of a paper led by Suisui Yu in the IoL, in partnership with Shanghai Municipality Education Commission, that comprised a comparative analysis of leadership in Chinese, bilingual and international schools.

These findings described above and opportunities to acquire research methodology to lead school-based research are offered by the IoL through:

  1. The Inspiring Learning Forum
  2. Ongoing workshops

For further information scan the QR code below:

*Effect size is a statistical approach frequently used in educational research that measures the relative impact of an initiative using a continuum that includes:

· A negative value; i.e. the initiative actually had a negative impact, for instance resulted in decreased exam outcomes
· A very low effect size of 0 to approximately 0.2
· A high effective size from 0.4 and above
· An effect size >0.7 is recognised as a very high impact

Coe R. and Kime S. (2013) The DIY evaluation guide Education.
Endowment Fund

Where Next

 

Institute of Learning Workshops

 

PGCE

 

QTS